Meet the TSE Board

About Us

Meet the TSE Board

TSE’s Board is a diverse mix of tourism leaders and stakeholders from across the industry.  The Board meet throughout the year to discuss local and national issues impacting our members and partners and ensure that our programmes of activity deliver value and contribute to the visitor economy.

To view the latest press statement for the New Leadership at Tourism South East click here

Board Members



Chair, Mark Smith,Tourism Resort Director, Bournemouth & Poole 

Passionate about tourism, Mark has worked in the public and private sector of the industry for over 30 years. Management trained with British Airways, he has launched new routes and developed new hotels in Austria, Switzerland, Germany, Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand. Mark has managed tourism for Winchester, Eastbourne and, Bournemouth Borough Council. In Bournemouth, he has been responsible for major tourism developments such as the model Tourism Planning Guidance, the innovative Bournemouth Tourism Management Board, the world’s largest free air event, the Bournemouth Air Festival and he has coordinated the merger of Bournemouth and Poole Tourism.  Mark has been a Director of Tourism South East since 2012.


Vice Chair, Louise Stewart, CEO at Alexandra Palace

As Chief Executive of Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust Louise has overall responsibility for the work of the Trust and its trading company.

Louise has over 25 years’ experience in tourism, culture and regeneration. As Deputy Chief Executive of the National Tourist Board, Louise developed and coordinated delivery of the national strategy, developed and led on corporate strategy, instigated a culture of performance management and drove new strategic partnerships. Prior to that Louise spent 15 years in regional roles, leading regeneration and business development strategy and delivery programmes for the tourism and culture sector and in Local Authority tourism and leisure in Test Valley, Hampshire. In her early career Louise worked in overseas adventure travel, catering and events.’

Louise was appointed onto the Board in 2016 and made Vice Chair in July 2017. Louise is keen to support TSE to manage the balance between advocating for and promoting the South East tourism sector whilst providing value and benefit for tourism businesses and partners in the region.



Fran Downton, CEO at Tourism South East

Working in the public, private and non-for-profit sectors, Fran has over 25 years experience in the leisure and tourism industry, having worked for P&O Ferries, the City of Portsmouth and in senior management roles at Tourism South East. 

Fran has a degree in Leisure Management, Diplomas in Travel and Tourism and Marketing, as well as  proven practical success in leading an award winning service. 

Fran brings direct experience of developing marketing and business strategies, business planning, performance management, delivering projects and contracts. With thirteen years experience of working for TSE, specializing in marketing, Fran demonstrate an extensive understanding of all aspects of TSE’s operations.


Company Secretary,  Paul Oliver

Non-Executive Directors:

Board Members 

John Atherton FCA

Graham Hukins (Chairman, Association of Tourist Attractions in Kent) 

Bob O'Connor 

Cllr Dan Humphreys (Worthing Borough Council) 

Stephen Munn (Commercial Director, National Motor Museum, Beaulieu) 

Sandra Barnes-Keywood

Andrew Bateman

Ken Robinson CBE FTS

Martine Humphray (Green Pastures Camping and Touring Park) 

Caryl Oliver (TopKit)